John Diefenbaker

John Diefenbaker

Full name: John George Diefenbaker
Born: September 18, 1895, Neustadt, Ontario
Died: August 16, 1979, Ottawa, Ontario
Served: June 21, 1957 to April 22, 1963 (5 years)
Party: Conservative

Prime Minister Diefenbaker’s administration represented the last gasp of a dying strain of Canadian politics and nationalism. Madly in love with Britain and frightened and fearful of the United States, his five years in power were erratic and eccentric — much like the man himself.

Raised in rural Saskatchewan, “Dief” weathered the Depression as a successful small-town lawyer, where he perfected a highly theatrical, flamboyant style that would become his trademark in politics. Notoriously unlucky in elections, Diefenbaker ran unsuccessfully for all sorts of offices before finally entering Parliament in 1940, and becoming Conservative leader (on his third try) in 1956.

At the time of the 1957 federal election Canada had been under Liberal rule for 22 years, allowing Diefenbaker to win a narrow minority government victory by campaigning against the party’s arrogance and corruption. As prime minister, he attempted to push the country back into a more pro-Commonwealth, anti-American direction, feuding with President Kennedy (1917-1963) and trying to divert more trade to Britain.

Though grandiose in his rhetoric and vision, Diefenbaker was not much for day-to-day policy, and his administration’s poor handling of the economy led to giant deficits and a sliding Canadian dollar. In the realm of Cold War policy, things weren’t much better. To this day, Diefenbaker’s term is often remembered for his uncooperative actions during the Cuban Missile Crisis (1962) and his decision to destroy Canada’s famed Avro Arrow bomber jets, both for seemingly vain and petty reasons.

Notoriously paranoid, Dief routinely portrayed himself as the last guardian of Canadian sovereignty in the face of a hostile U.S. administration and a pro-American Liberal Party. When he lost reelection in 1963, he maintained it was the result of an American conspiracy, and remained a loud and brash backbench Member of Parliament until his death in 1979.

Followed by — Lester Pearson (1963-1968)
Preceded by — Louis St. Laurent (1948-1957)

Links About John Diefenbaker: