Regions of Canada

Canada is a giant, unwieldy thing, sprawling over 5 000 miles from coast to coast and containing over nine million square kilometers of land. To get a handle on all this geography, Canadians split up their country in a number of different ways.

Canada is a federation of 13 self-contained, self-governing units known as provinces and territories. In more casual conversation, it’s also common to talk of Canada as being split into around six “regions;” large geographic zones that share certain things in common, such as climate, landscape, industry, demographics, and (increasingly) political ideology and identity. Click on an area of the map below to learn more about that specific part of Canada.